Pastry Month

The humble pastry.  Short.  Sweet.  Puff.  As a child, I quickly discovered that sometimes the favourite part of a pie, tart or dessert was the buttery pastry.

When I visit a favourite blog, or flick through one of my baking books, I am constantly reminded that I really do not make enough pastry.

This is about to change. 

I have attended a number of pastry classes here in Brisbane.  With Chef Andreas Stossel (Swiss pastry chef and head patisserie teacher at Southbank Institute), Chef Kristie Rickman (head pastry chef at E’cco Bistro) and Chef Michael Courgnaud (French pastry chef and patisserie teacher at Shafston College).

It is time I put into practise what I have learned from these instructors, along with the hoards of books I own, as well as the tips and hints from many of my fellow baking bloggers.

So I am dedicating a month to pastry making, un mois de pâtisserie.  I will be covering off:

pâte brisée :: short crust pastry
pâte sablée :: sweetened short pastry
pâte sucrée :: rich and crumbly sweet tart pastry
pâte à choux:: choux pastry
pâte feuilletée :: puff pastry

It will be like my very own month long amateur pastry class!

If you have any great resources, ideas and suggestions for :: pastry month :: please send them my way.  Until then, I have my tools and books ready.  Recipes and techniques under review.

Wish me luck!