choc chip copy medium 5

When I lived in America, I was not surprised at how popular chocolate chip cookies were.  I think many people around the world recognise this ‘American icon’.  What I was not ready for, however, was the explosion of varieties, sizes, flavour combinations, recipes, and sometimes, endless discussions around finding the ‘perfect’ cookie.

Like the brownie, I like my chocolate chip cookie chewy.  This is my favourite recipe in this category.

I made a batch of these cookies a couple of years ago for my partner’s friend (flatmate at the time).  He is a huge fan of the chocolate chip cookie.  In fact, he apparently said they were the best he had ever tasted.  Big call, but I tend to concur.  They are absolutely the most perfect chocolate chip cookie around.

Chocolate chip cookies may not be as popular here in Australia as they are in America, but they are still a firm favourite treat.  They are incredibly simple to make and I think are the perfect home baked gift in a pinch.  The dough only takes a few minutes to pull together and 10 minutes to bake.

I have been experimenting with homemade packaging.  I am playing around with a few ideas to adopt for my upcoming wedding favours.  I am obsessed with  baker’s twine.  Can you tell?  Secretly, I cannot wait for Christmas to use an endless quantity of the red/white colour!

Until then, here is the recipe.  Please try and let me know what you think.

{ Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies }
Recipe from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

* Ingredients *

2 1/4 cups all-purpose / plain flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks / 250g) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups (about 12 ounces or 350g) semisweet and/or milk chocolate chips

* Directions *

Preheat oven to 350F or 180C.  In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.  Drop heaping tablespoon-size balls of dough about 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, but still soft in the centre, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven, and let cool on baking sheet 1 to 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack, and let cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.

Makes 36 cookies

