kayser

There are a few Kayser stores in Paris.  During my trip to France last year, the first one I attempted to visit, unfortunately, was closed.  The sign on the door posted an explanation, but I could not decipher whether it was due to renovations underway or closed for the obligatory summer schedule.  (Very limited French!)

I eventually stopped by the Maison Kayser store in the 5th arrondissement.  I was keen to visit the store as Eric Kayser is praised lavishly as one of Europe’s best artisan bakers, thoroughout one of my favourite books, Local Breads by Daniel Leader.

However, I had consumed quite an amount of bread at this stage so upon seeing the selection of breads, sweet breads and pastries, opted for something a little sweeter.  Something a little richer. 

I purchased a croissant.

The Kayser croissant absolutely put my recent croissant effortto utter, and complete shame.  They were plump, soft, tender, rich, and buttery.  Perfect in every way.  No wonder it has been voted one of the best croissants in Paris.

Kayser is a must visit and the croissant a definite must try.

Boulangerie Kayser
8 Rue Monge, 75005 Paris