fauchon

Next stop on my Paris Pâtisserie et Boulangerie expedition was Fauchon.  My Francophile friend, C., strongly urged me to include a little wander about Place de la Madeleine in the 8th arrondissement.  She is a true gourmand with impeccable taste, so I knew it was a ‘must visit’.

My partner is not so mad about patisserie as myself, but the mention of cheese, cured meats, and wine and you have his attention.  So we wandered to that gastronomically enriched area to take in the delightful stores.  We perused Hediard, la Maison de la Truffle and Maille for the most fabulous savoury delights.  Then my sugar radar forced me to wander over to Fauchon.  I would have had a serious conflict with Ladurée also in plain view had I not already dropped by the 6th arrondissement boutique.

At Fauchon, you are immediately impressed by the slick, modern presentation of the store.  There are no simple éclairs here!  The most vibrant decorations adorned these Pâte à choux treats.

Fauchon is also known for their madeleines.  I adore these little buttery cakes, so purchased a ‘souvenir’ tin full to take home with me.  With our taste and visual sensors surely heightened at this stage, we purchased a little snack to satisfy our developing hunger.  We then took a wander along the river to wrap up our day.  Paris, je t’aime.

Fauchon
24-30 place de la Madeleine, 75008 Paris