cafe-au-lait-macaronsWhen I made the mint chocolate macarons, I split the mixture to create a second version.  I decided to lightly mix through some ground coffee to try and create a different flavour and finish.

Interestingly, the shells seemed less fragile than the mint version even though they were made from the same mixture.  I can only conclude it was due to the rest time – they were the second batch in the oven. 

To complement the coffee flecked shells, I made a mocha ganache for the filling.  I love chocolate and cannot remember never enjoying coffee, so a perfect combination for me!

I was much happier with the results … but still a long way to go.  I will persevere with the Italian meringue method.  Given many of the recipes and techniques I have found are similar, my instinct is to keep those elements constant and continue to practise while experimenting with flavours.

Hopefully I will be able to look back and observe improvements!

{ Coffee macaron }

* Ingredients *

120g egg whites
25g sugar
150g almond meal
150g icing sugar
1 teaspoon of ground coffee
For the syrup:
150g sugar and 50ml water

* Directions *

Process the almond meal and icing sugar together.  In a mixer, whip half the egg whites to soft peaks.  Meanwhile, in a saucepan bring the water and sugar for the syrup to 117C (or 242F) on a candy thermometer.  Once ready, slowly add the boiling syrup to the egg whites and continue to whip on medium speed until they thick and shiny and are completely cooled (about 10 minutes).  Mix the remaining egg whites to the sifted almond mixture and fold into the meringue in four parts.  Lightly fold through ground coffee.

Pipe macarons on lined baking sheets. Double up your baking sheets if you do not have professional grade quality.  Let your macarons sit at room temperature for 30 minutes. Bake at 140C or 280F for 15-18 minutes.  Fill with ganache or filling of your choice.

{ Mocha Ganache }

* Ingredients *

120g bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 tbs ground coffee

* Directions *

Heat cream until bubbles form around the edge of the pan.  Pour cream over the chocolate and ground coffee.  Let sit for 2-3 minutes and then stir.  Let cool then transfer to the refrigerator to thicken.